REALITY BLOG: GUMROAD

Day 1: Birth of an Idea

My path to $1,000 in Gumroad sales from scratch

P. Venkat Raman
3 min readAug 29, 2022

--

Photo by Carlos Muza on Unsplash

You may laugh. Seriously.

Yes, my target, for now, is $1K in sales on Gumroad. And I don’t have anything saleable yet!

How can I be so naive or brash that this is achievable? Because many have done a variation on the theme before, and I ask myself, Why not ME?

How did I get to this point? That’s an interesting story.

I was actually trying to research Patreon for a client project. In trying to understand its offering better, I went into some comparisons between Patreon and Gumroad.

Next thing I knew I was researching Gumroad for my own projects. But that didn’t get me here either.

I think it’s Serendipity.

How else can you explain the chance that I would notice the article by Victoria Kurichenko on exactly that topic: making the first $1K (actually $1200+ for her) on Gumroad?

Maybe it was the red car effect. In fact, I am sure it was.

When you buy a red car, suddenly you see the world full of red cars. All those cars were there all the time, but you never saw them. (This actually happened to me when we bought our Volvo 240!)

--

--

P. Venkat Raman

A tortoise among internet marketing hares. Slowly inching toward the goal.